Busy WhatsApp groups can be entertaining. I recently joined one with a few friends in it as well as several people that I’ve never met. They constantly chat and usually post many pictures and videos to share what they’re currently doing. Although I’m quiet in the group, I’ve enjoyed seeing what they’re all up to – particularly as they live in another country.

But then I opened my Photos app…

WhatsApp had been saving all their media to my photo library. I had to scroll several pages to find my own photos, and they were all mixed up with images of other people’s food, drinks, flights, friends and cats! I considered leaving the group completely just to keep my photo library sane.

Thankfully, I found that saving their media to my photo library was optional and can be turned off in the WhatsApp settings if you know where to look.

WhatsApp Settings
WhatsApp Settings
WhatsApp Save to Camera Roll
WhatsApp Save to Camera Roll
  1. Open WhatsApp.
  2. Click the Settings icon on the bottom-right.
  3. Select Chats.
  4. Turn off the Save to Camera Roll option.

Now you can enjoy your chat groups without creating a mess in your photo library.

Last modified: April 22, 2021

Author

Comments

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.